New York: 01:43 || London: 06:43 || Mumbai: 10:13 || Singapore: 12:43

Global Outlook

Jim Rogers Speaks

December 9, 2013, Monday, 11:20 GMT | 06:20 EST | 15:50 IST | 18:20 SGT
Contributed by eResearch


“Eventually, the whole world is going to collapse,” Jim Rogers chides a disquieted CBC anchor as he explains the reality that, “we in the West have staggering debts. The United States is the largest debtor nation in the history of the world,” adding that “this is going to end badly.”

However, the co-founder of Soros’ Quantum fund is convinced that the commodity super-cycle is far from over, but driven by supply constraints (and cost increases) as opposed to demand from higher growth. The following interview provides more color on his commodity view as he re-iterates his bullish stance on Ag (with sugar a focus) and Natural Gas (some harsh natural realities coming), warning “don’t get too excited about fracking,” when he talks energy products.

Rogers, in his inimitable way, sums up the state of euphoria that many markets find themselves in thus, “we are all floating around on a sea of artificial liquidity right now. This is not going to last.”

On the end of the commodity super-cycle:

“Commodities have pulled back, but I would remind you that in all bull markets there are periods of correction. In 1987 - during the great bull market in stocks - stocks went down 40 to 80 per cent around the world; again in 1989, 1990, 1994, etc. Every time, people said the bull market is over, but it was not. I think that is what is happening with commodities now.”

On the next crisis:

“2008 was so much worse than 2000 because the debt was so much higher. You wait until 2014, or 2015, when the next crisis hits. Debt has gone through the roof, and the next one is gonna be really bad“

His final words:

“Be prepared, be worried, and be careful”.