New York: 06:45 || London: 11:45 || Mumbai: 17:15 || Singapore: 19:45

Global Outlook

Olympic Medal Standing

February 25, 2014, Tuesday, 07:09 GMT | 02:09 EST | 12:39 IST | 15:09 SGT
Contributed by eResearch


The 2014 Winter Olympics held in Sochi, Russia are over. If you are like me, you spent a lot of time in front of the television, marvelling at the performances of these amazing athletes.

As is often the case, the Host Country won the most medals.

There are two methods for assessing how the respective countries fared: (1) the total number of medals won; or (2) the total number of gold medals won.

I believe there is an even better, more insightful way of ranking the countries. I will set that out shortly, but first the rankings using the methods mentioned above. I am only choosing the top ten countries.



Clear winner is Russia, with the USA in second, Norway in third, and Canada in fourth.

Slightly different order when ranking by only gold medals won. See next page.



Russia is still the leader, but now Norway is second, Canada third, and the USA falls to fourth place.

However, I think the best way to rank the countries is to weight performance.

I have done this by giving 3 points for a gold medal, 2 points for a silver, and 1 for a bronze.

The results are set out on the following page.



Russia has the most points under the weighted system, but Canada is now second, while Norway and the USA are tied for third.

Stock Market Forum