New York: 16:48 || London: 21:48 || Mumbai: 01:18 || Singapore: 03:48

News & Analysis

National Museum of American History Opens ''The First Ladies''

November 17, 2011, Thursday, 07:07 GMT | 02:07 EST | 11:37 IST | 14:07 SGT
Contributed by PR Newswire

 

WHAT: The Smithsonian's National Museum of American History invites media to preview "The First Ladies," a major new exhibition showcasing the premier objects from the century-old First Ladies Collection.

WHEN: Friday, Nov. 18

10 a.m.

WHERE: National Museum of American History

14th Street and Madison Drive N.W.

NOTE: Enter via Mall entrance at Madison Drive

WHO: Marc Pachter, interim director, National Museum of American History

Lisa Kathleen Graddy, curator, National Museum of American History

For more than a century, the First Ladies Collection has been one of the most popular attractions at the Smithsonian. "The First Ladies" explores the unofficial but important position of First Lady and the ways that different women have shaped the role to make their own contributions to the presidential administrations and the nation.

This new exhibition features 26 dresses, including those worn by Frances Cleveland, Lou Hoover, Jacqueline Kennedy, Laura Bush and Michelle Obama and more than 160 other objects, including portraits, White House china, personal possessions and related objects. A section titled "Changing Times, Changing First Ladies" will highlight the roles played by Dolley Madison, Mary Lincoln, Edith Roosevelt and Lady Bird Johnson and their contributions to their husband's administrations. "The First Ladies" encourages visitors to consider the changing role played by the First Lady and American women over the past 200 years.

Museum Interim Director Marc Pachter and Exhibition Curator Lisa Kathleen Graddy will make brief remarks. "The First Ladies" opens to the public Saturday, Dec. 19. Its new location is adjacent to "The American Presidency" exhibition on the third floor.

Media only:

Laura Duff  (202) 633-3129

Melinda Machado (202) 633-3129

Media Website:   http://newsdesk.si.edu

/PRNewswire-USNewswire -- Nov. 16, 2011/

SOURCE Smithsonian's National Museum of American History