New York: 19:16 || London: 00:16 || Mumbai: 03:46 || Singapore: 06:16

News & Analysis

IT Employment Continues to Outperform Overall Labor Market

December 7, 2011, Wednesday, 18:25 GMT | 13:25 EST | 22:55 IST | 01:25 SGT
Contributed by PR Newswire

ALEXANDRIA, Va., Dec. 7, 2011 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- In November, IT employment continued its pattern of month-over-month growth and outperforming the general labor market.

According to a monthly index of IT jobs developed and published by TechServe Alliance, a collaboration of IT services firms, clients, consultants and suppliers, the number of IT jobs increased by more than 7,100 rising to 4,068,400 jobs in November, up by more than 84,000 jobs from November 2010 or 2.1%. 

In comparison, overall job growth for the economy was less than 0.1 percent in November and up only 1.2 percent year-over-year.

"Despite a mixed report on the overall jobs market, demand for IT professionals remains strong," stated Mark Roberts, CEO of TechServe Alliance.  "I remain very bullish on the prospects for continued growth in 2012 and anticipate IT employment will surpass its all-time high set back in June 2008," added Roberts. 

For a complete November 2011 IT Index, please visit http://www.techservealliance.org/research/documents/IndexreleaseNovember2011.pdf

ABOUT TechServe Alliance

TechServe Alliance is a collaboration of IT services firms, clients, consultants and suppliers dedicated to advancing excellence and ethics within the IT services industry. Hundreds of IT staffing, IT solutions and IT consulting firms and tens of thousands of affiliated professionals, count on TechServe Alliance to keep their leadership informed, engaged and connected. TechServe Alliance serves as the voice of the industry before the policymakers and the national and trade press. By providing access to the knowledge and best practices of an entire industry and tapping the "collective scale" of hundreds of companies, TechServe Alliance supports its members in the efficient delivery of best-in-class IT services for clients and exceptional professional opportunities for every IT consultant.



 

SOURCE TechServe Alliance