New York: 20:46 || London: 01:46 || Mumbai: 05:16 || Singapore: 07:46

News & Analysis US

Abraxis BioScience Says Abraxane Approved For Marketing In Japan For Breast Cancer - Quick Facts

July 23, 2010, Friday, 13:24 GMT | 08:24 EST | 16:54 IST | 19:24 SGT

(RTTNews) - Abraxis BioScience Inc. (ABII) announced that Taiho Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. has received approval from the Ministry of Health, Labor and Welfare to market Abraxane IV Infusion 100 mg, Paclitaxel Injection (Suspension with Albumin), for use in the treatment of breast cancer. The Product is expected to launch in September. With the approval in Japan, Abraxane is now approved in 40 countries.

The New Drug Application or J-NDA for Abraxane was filed with the Ministry of Health, Labor and Welfare in 2008.

In 2005, Abraxis entered into a license deal with Taiho Pharmaceutical, by which Abraxis granted to Taiho the exclusive rights to market and sell Abraxane in Japan.

Abraxis said that the company and Taiho are also developing Abraxane in Japan for the treatment of lung and gastric cancer and other solid tumors.