New York: 00:08 || London: 05:08 || Mumbai: 08:38 || Singapore: 11:08

News & Analysis US

Temasek Life, Emergent BioSolutions To Form JV For Pandemic Flu Vaccine And Therapeutic - Quick Facts

August 11, 2010, Wednesday, 21:36 GMT | 16:36 EST | 01:06 IST | 03:36 SGT

(RTTNews) - Temasek Life Science Ventures Pte Ltd. and Emergent BioSolutions Inc. (EBS) Wednesday jointly said that they have agreed to form EPIC BIO Pte Ltd, a joint venture to develop, manufacture, and commercialize a multivalent, cross-protective human vaccine to protect against influenza caused by a broad range of circulating H5 influenza strains. EPIC BIO will be based in Singapore.

The broad spectrum pandemic flu vaccine is expected to be based on multiple antigens held by Temasek Life and to be delivered as a single vaccine using Emergent's MVAtor vaccine delivery platform. Avian influenza, or "bird flu", is a contagious disease of animals caused by viruses that normally infect only birds and, less commonly, pigs.

The joint venture plans to initiate clinical manufacturing of the broad spectrum H5 vaccine candidate in 2011, with the clinical trial scheduled to begin in 2012. In addition to the H5 vaccine, the joint venture will develop monoclonal antibodies for the treatment of pandemic H5 influenza using Temasek Life's monoclonal technology.

Under the terms of the joint venture, both companies will contribute cash and intellectual property to the partnership. Emergent will have 60% ownership while Temasek Life will hold 40% of the joint venture.

Completion of this joint venture is expected in the next few weeks.