New York: 01:26 || London: 06:26 || Mumbai: 09:56 || Singapore: 12:26

News & Analysis US

J2 Global Communications Q3 Profit Up - Quick Facts

November 4, 2010, Thursday, 04:26 GMT | 00:26 EST | 08:56 IST | 11:26 SGT

(RTTNews) - Messaging and communications services provider J2 Global Communications Inc. (JCOM) Wednesday reported a slightly higher profit for the fourth quarter, driven mainly by increased subscriber revenues. The company also reaffirmed its full year outlook.

Net earnings for the quarter improved to $19.83 million from $19.33 million last year. On a per-share basis, earnings remained flat at $0.43.

Excluding share-based compensation expense, non-GAAP earnings was $21.75 million or $0.47 per share compared to $21.36 million or $0.47 per share last year. On average, nine analysts polled by Thomson Reuters expected the company to earn $0.46 per share in the quarter. Analysts' estimates typically excludes special items.

The Los Angeles, California-based company's total revenue improved to $62.78 million from $61.80 million in the comparable quarter a year ago, primarily due to an increase in the subscriber base. Analysts were looking for a revenue of $63.17 million.

Gross margin increased to 82.9% from 81.8% last year.

Looking ahead to fiscal 2010, j2 Global reaffirmed it targeted revenue growth range of 3% to 7% compared to fiscal year 2009 revenues. Net earnings, excluding 123R non-cash compensation expense, are expected to approximate non-GAAP earnings in 2009.