New York: 14:42 || London: 19:42 || Mumbai: 23:12 || Singapore: 01:42

News & Analysis US

AIG Slips To Loss In Q3 - Quick Facts

November 5, 2010, Friday, 19:32 GMT | 15:32 EST | 00:02 IST | 02:32 SGT

(RTTNews) - American International Group Inc. (AIG) reported a third-quarter net loss attributable to common shareholders of $2.395 billion or $17.62 per share, compared to net income of $92 million or $0.68 per share, in the third quarter of 2009.

The net loss in the quarter is primarily attributable to Restructuring-related charges of $4.5 billion, $1.2 billion amortization of the prepaid commitment fee asset.

Adjusted net loss was $200 million, compared to profit of $1.623 billion in the year ago quarter. Adjusted net loss $1.47 per share, compared to profit of $2.42 per share last year.

Analysts polled by Thomson Reuters expected the company to report earnings of $1.35 per share for the quarter. Analysts' estimates typically exclude special items.

Total revenues rose declined to $19.09 billion, from $19.60 billion in the year ago quarter.