New York: 07:44 || London: 12:44 || Mumbai: 16:14 || Singapore: 18:44

Recommendations India

Alembic Pharmaceuticals 3QFY2014 performance highlights and results update

January 24, 2014, Friday, 04:31 GMT | 23:31 EST | 09:01 IST | 11:31 SGT
Contributed by Angel Broking


For 3QFY2014, Alembic Pharmaceuticals (Alembic) delivered numbers much above our expectations. The net sales came in at Rs.484cr (vs our expectation of Rs.420cr), registering a yoy growth of 31.3%. The OPM came in at 21.0% (vs an expected16.6%), posting an expansion of 226bp. While the operating profit grew 47.2% yoy, a higher taxation during the quarter led the company to post a net profit growth of 36.6% yoy to Rs.65.4cr (vs our expectation of Rs.45cr). We maintain our Neutral rating on the stock.
 
Results better than expectations: For 3QFY2014, Alembic Pharmaceuticals delivered numbers much above our expectations. The net sales came in at Rs.484cr (vs an expected Rs.420cr), registering a yoy growth of 31.3%. The growth was driven by exports, which posted sales of Rs.1,493cr (vs Rs.761cr in 3QFY2013), registering a yoy growth of 96.1%. The domestic sales stood at Rs.2,570cr (vs Rs.2,277cr in 3QFY2013), registering a yoy growth of 12.9%, with domestic formulations growing at 15% yoy. The company's OPM came in at 21.0% vs an expected 16.6%, posting an expansion of 226bp. While operating profits grew by 47.2% yoy, a higher taxation during the quarter led the company to post a net profit growth of 36.6% yoy to end the period at Rs.65.4cr (vs our expectation of Rs.45cr).
 
Outlook and valuation: Alembic’s growth and profitability profile has improved post the restructuring carried out by the Management. Over FY2013-15, we expect the company to post a CAGR of 20.1% and 31.3% in sales and net profit respectively. We recommend a Neutral rating on the stock.

Stock Market Forum