New York: 05:59 || London: 10:59 || Mumbai: 14:29 || Singapore: 16:59

Recommendations India

Ambuja Cements 4QCY2013 performance highlights and results update

February 12, 2014, Wednesday, 07:38 GMT | 02:38 EST | 12:08 IST | 14:38 SGT
Contributed by Angel Broking


For 4QCY2013, Ambuja Cements (ACEM) posted a weak performance on the operational front due to a 3.5% yoy fall in realization. Volume too declined by 1.9% yoy. The EBITDA fell by 31.6% on a yoy basis, with the EBITDA/tonne at Rs.586, down by 30.3% on a yoy basis.
 
OPM down 541bp yoy: For 4QCY2013 ACEM’s performance was below estimates. Its standalone top-line fell by 5.3% yoy to Rs.2,191cr impacted by a steep fall in realization. While the company’s volume fell by 1.9% yoy to 5.25mn tonne, realization was down by 3.5% yoy. The OPM fell by 541bp yoy to 14.0%, impacted by a fall in realization and increase in freight costs and employee expenses. The reported PAT rose by 49% yoy to Rs.317cr, aided by tax write back of Rs.100cr. Adjusted for the same, the bottom-line stood at Rs.217cr up 2.4% on a yoy basis.
 
Outlook and valuation: We expect ACEM to register a 1.6% CAGR in top-line over CY2012-14E. However, the bottom-line is expected to de-grow at a CAGR of 9.7% for the same period due to high cost pressures and poor pricing scenario. At the current market price, the stock is trading at an EV/tonne of US$109 on CY2014E capacity, which we believe is fair. Hence, we continue to remain Neutral on the stock.