New York: 23:35 || London: 04:35 || Mumbai: 10:05 || Singapore: 12:35

Reports Russia

Russian stock market daily evening report (February 21, 2014, Friday)

February 21, 2014, Friday, 15:40 GMT | 10:40 EST | 21:10 IST | 23:40 SGT
Contributed by Veles Capital


Stocks

Market today. Friday the Russian market showed sideways dynamics at the back of no macrostats releases and following the dynamics of the trade dynamics at the european grounds. The posted data on retail selling in January in the UK indicated 1.5% while the reduction was expected to form 1%. However, given data did not cause any serious negative at the markets as the stats released earlier did not provide for improvement of the economy in the EZ.

Shares of Quadra (-4.8%) are still correcting for the second day straight after the instant growth by 33% due to the news on the portfolio of Mikhail Prokhorov possibly selling his share to foreign investors. In addition, technical correction indicated the shares if AFK Systema (+3.24%) and Polymetal (+2.79%).

Market tomorrow.  We do not expect the activity to recover at the global trade grounds next Monday as there still are no global drivers or stats releases expected.


Bonds

Market today. Ruble debt market traded without any expressive dynamics at the back of lack of strong drivers. The long BFL added slightly in price, their yield reduced 2-5 bps. In the corporate segment most active trade went on the issues LokoBank MB-2, FNC-19, Novatek MB-3. Eurobonds also traded sideways. Slight growth indicated in the sovereign segment. Russia-42 added 35 bps having upped to 98.76%, Russia-23 - 20 bpd to 101.89% of the nominal.

Market tomorrow. Friday did not introduce any fresh ideas, therefore, the market will start the new week at the former level. During the week, various stats from the EU and USA will set the tune.

Stock Market Forum