New York: 05:44 || London: 10:44 || Mumbai: 16:14 || Singapore: 18:44

Reports » Singapore

Singapore stock market and companies daily report (Starhub, Singapore Airlines, Keppel Corp) (February 07, 2014)

February 7, 2014, Friday, 09:45 GMT | 04:45 EST | 15:15 IST | 17:45 SGT
Contributed by Shares Investment


StarHub recognised a 6.2 percent decline in 4Q13’s total revenue to $613.7 million from $654.1 million in 4Q12, mainly due to lower sales of equipment, while operating expenses was down 5.5 percent to $521.8 million amid lower cost of sales. Earnings in 4Q13 shrank 4.8 percent to $83.7 million, compared to $87.9 million in 4Q12. For the year, revenue decreased to $2.4 billion and earnings increased to $370.7 million.
 
Singapore Airlines’s 3Q14 revenue was flat at $3.9 billion, mainly attributed to the intensity of competition and unfavourable exchange rate movements. Despite company keeping 3Q14′s expenditure in check, losses and impairments amounting to $46 million dragged earnings down by 64.8 percent to $50.1 million. For the nine months, revenue came in flat at $11.6 billion, while earnings increased 7.1 percent to $332.5 million.
 
Ascendas Hospitality Trust recorded a 10 percent increase in gross revenue to $56.6 million from $51.4 million in 3Q14, due to additional revenue contribution from newly acquired assets. However, earnings for the quarter shrank 90.1 percent to $0.3 million amid a $19 million loss on its business trust arm, partially offset by lesser losses from its real estate investment trust arm. Gross revenue for the nine months increased to $157.7 million leading to a net profit of $0.9 million.
 
Keppel Corporation inked a repeat contract from UMW Oil & Gas Corporation for a KFELS B Class jackup rig for US$218 million (approximately $276.4 million). Slated for delivery in 3Q15, the latest order will be the third KFELS B Class jackup rig for UMW Oil & Gas.
 
Otto Marine bagged a charter contract for its platform supply vessel, Sea Frost, for US$8 million with an option to extend for two additional terms. The contract spanning for 152 days will be utilised to support the Atwood Eagle rig that is located in Australia.
 
Chasen Holdings secured two projects worth $2.5 million, including a contract worth RM5.2 million ($2 million) for the provision of engineering services for a coal-fired power plant in Johor, Malaysia.