New York: 13:13 || London: 18:13 || Mumbai: 21:43 || Singapore: 00:13

Reports UK

UK stock market morning note (April 04, 2014)

April 4, 2014, Friday, 07:07 GMT | 02:07 EST | 10:37 IST | 13:07 SGT
Contributed by SVS Securities

The FTSE 100 is called to open higher this morning despite the indifferent performances overnight on Wall Street and in Asia but gains may be limited ahead of the release of the US non-farm payrolls data at lunchtime. Commodity prices are flat to firmer and on the foreign exchanges, the dollar is higher against both the pound and euro although all are trading within narrow ranges prior to the US jobs report. It is a quieter finish to the week again for major corporate news.


Company Announcements

Royal Bank of Scotland (RBS)

It has confirmed that Ewen Stevenson will be appointed as an Executive Director and Chief Finance Officer with effect from 19 May 2014. He joins from Credit Suisse and between 2008 and 2009 he was a senior member of the Credit Suisse team advising the Treasury on the recapitalisations of both RBS and Lloyds Banking Group together with the good bank/bad bank restructuring of Northern Rock.