New York: 05:53 || London: 10:53 || Mumbai: 14:23 || Singapore: 16:53

Reports UK

UK stock market morning note (April 09, 2014)

April 9, 2014, Wednesday, 07:24 GMT | 02:24 EST | 10:54 IST | 13:24 SGT
Contributed by SVS Securities

The FTSE 100 is called to open flat to slightly higher this morning with valuations and the situation in Ukraine continuing to influence market sentiment. Today's economic diary sees the release of domestic trade balance data and then at 7.00pm UK time the US Federal Reserve meeting minutes. Commodity prices are range bound and on the foreign exchanges, the major currencies are little changed as markets await the Fed's report.


Company Announcements

Rolls-Royce

The company has been awarded a Contractor Logistics Support contract valued at over USD100m to provide ongoing support for the F405 (Adour) engines that power the US Navy's T-45 training aircraft.

WS Atkins

Trading Statement reports that it has traded well through Q4 with strong cash flow generation and expects results for the year to end March 2014 to be in line with expectations. It noted that the UK has performed well and Scandinavia continues to track in line with its expectations. The North American business has seen stable market conditions, the Middle East delivered an improved H2 performance and Asia saw a good end to the year. In the Energy business, the strong H1 performance has been maintained through H2. It added that its overall outlook for the full year remains unchanged and it is confident of taking further steps towards achieving its strategic goals in the next financial year.