New York: 04:53 || London: 09:53 || Mumbai: 13:23 || Singapore: 15:53

Reports UK

UK stock market morning note (March 10, 2014)

March 10, 2014, Monday, 09:41 GMT | 05:41 EST | 14:11 IST | 16:41 SGT
Contributed by SVS Securities

The FTSE 100 is called to open flat to slightly higher this morning although gains may be limited given the performance overnight in Asia on sluggish data out of China with investors also continuing to await further developments in Ukraine. There is no major economic data due for release today and it is a quiet start to the week for corporate news. Commodity prices are generally lower and on the foreign exchanges, the pound is mixed against both the dollar and the euro but all the major currencies are trading within narrow ranges.


Company Announcements

Costain

Contract. It has been awarded an initial GBP150m contract by Network Rail relating to the Crossrail North East Spur. The main works will take place between late 2014 and 2017.

Clarkson

Preliminary Results from the shipping services company see underlying PBT up 26% to GBP25.1m on revenue ahead 12% at GBP198m. The dividend is raised 10% to 56p and it noted a strong forward order book for 2014 of USD100m.