New York: 18:11 || London: 23:11 || Mumbai: 02:41 || Singapore: 05:11

Reports UK

UK stock market morning note (March 21, 2014)

March 21, 2014, Friday, 09:28 GMT | 05:28 EST | 13:58 IST | 16:28 SGT
Contributed by SVS Securities

The FTSE 100 is called to open flat this morning with Japan shut for a public holiday and the Ukraine situation continuing to influence investor sentiment and follows news of further EU sanctions against Russian individuals. Today's economic diary is confined to the UK with the publication of the public sector finances. Commodity prices are flat to firmer and on the foreign exchanges, the major currencies are range bound. We finish the week again on a quiet note for major corporate news.


Company Announcements

Balfour Beatty

Dubai Mall Expansion. The company has been awarded a GBP214m contract for expansion works to the Dubai Mall, the world's largest shopping mall. The extension will enable the mall to raise its annual capacity to over 100m visitors. Completion is due in early 2016.

CVS Group

Interim Results from the veterinary services provider see adjusted PBT up 15.5% at GBP7.1m on revenue ahead 18% at GBP68.8m with lfl sales rising 4.6%. It noted that trading since the half year has been in line with its expectations with the mild weather in January and February compared to the previous year helping lfl sales since the half year end. It added that it was confident in its strategy and outlook and sees significant opportunities for growth across its activities.