New York: 09:58 || London: 14:58 || Mumbai: 20:28 || Singapore: 22:58

Reports US

US stock market daily report (August 01, 2014, Friday)

August 4, 2014, Monday, 04:37 GMT | 23:37 EST | 09:07 IST | 11:37 SGT
Contributed by Millennium Traders


Big auto and truck makers on Friday reported a slow month for sales during July, compared to the same month in 2013. Growth in the sale of full size pickup trucks during the month were lower than usual. Full-size pickup trucks sales have always been a bellwether for the U.S. economy. Since the recession, gains in U.S. auto sales have been stronger than the overall economy although monthly figures indicate overall track for consumer spending. During 2009, auto sales fell to a low of 10.4 million vehicles however, during 2013 sales hit 15.6 million. Current expectations are for sales to reach 16.4 million for year 2014.

According to Kelley Blue Book, the average transaction price for vehicle sales during July held firm at an average of $32,556 per vehicle.

Ford Motor Co. (F-NYSE) reported selling 212,236 vehicles in July for a gain of 10%, hitting highest number of vehicle sales for the month, in eight years. Ford F-Series truck sales rose 5% to 63,240.

General Motors Company (GM-NYSE) reported selling 256,160 vehicles for a gain of 9% during July. Sale of Chevy full-size Silverado's were flat in July at 42,097 and GMC Sierra full size pickup sales rose by 5% to 17,488.

Chrysler sales rose 20% in July to 167,667 vehicles in July, posting their best sales for the month since 2005. Ram pickup sales rose by 14% to 35,621. Jeep sales, a linchpin for Fiat Chrysler global growth, rose 41% during the month.

Audi reported vehicle sales increased by 12%.

Hyundai Motor Company reported July sales in the U.S. set an all time record high for the month, rising 1.5% to 67,011 vehicles.

India's Tata Motors reported a drop in sales of 23%.

Infiniti reported an increase by 10% in sales.

Nissan reported an increase by 12% in vehicle sales.

Volkswagen reported an increase in vehicle sales by 12%.