New York: 05:39 || London: 10:39 || Mumbai: 16:09 || Singapore: 18:39

Reports » US

US stock market daily report (August 07, 2014, Thursday)

August 8, 2014, Friday, 05:10 GMT | 00:10 EST | 09:40 IST | 12:10 SGT
Contributed by Millennium Traders


US Investigations Services (USIS), a major contractor that performs background checks for the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS), reported they were a victim of a cyber attack. On Wednesday, USIS announced the computer breach and said in a statement, "it has all the markings of a state-sponsored attack." The breach probably involved the theft of personal information about DHS employees.

As the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) launches an investigation, DHS has suspended all work with USIS as a senior administration official said, “out of an abundance of caution.” The Office of Personnel Management (OPM) has also suspended work with USIS even though government officials do not believe the breach has affected non-DHS employees.

In the statement posted on their website, USIS said, "We are working collaboratively with OPM and DHS to resolve this matter quickly and look forward to resuming service on all our contracts with them as soon as possible. We will support the authorities in the investigation and any prosecution of those determined to be responsible for this criminal attack. Experts who have reviewed the facts gathered to-date believe it has all the markings of a state-sponsored attack."

DHS spokesman Peter Boogaard said in a statement, "multi-agency cyber response team is working with the company to identify the scope of the intrusion." He added that employees whose data had likely been compromised would be informed of such and said, "At this time, our forensic analysis has concluded that some DHS personnel may have been affected, and DHS has notified its entire workforce, out of an abundance of caution, to advise them to monitor their financial accounts for suspicious activity."

USIS is located in Falls Church, Virginia and refers to the company as the biggest commercial provider of background investigations for the federal government. The company has over 5,700 employees and provides services in all U.S. states and territories, as well as abroad.