New York: 20:41 || London: 23:41 || Mumbai: 05:11 || Singapore: 07:41

Reports US

US stock market daily report (August 20, 2014, Wednesday)

August 21, 2014, Thursday, 05:20 GMT | 01:20 EST | 09:50 IST | 12:20 SGT
Contributed by Millennium Traders


The BrightSource solar power plant near Ivanpah in California’s Mojave Dessert uses some 350,000 garage-door-sized mirrors to focus sunlight on three boiler towers which each towering 40 stories high.

The three towers have a total capacity of 392 megawatts and an annual production of nearly 1,000 gigawatt-hours of reasonably priced electricity.

The solar plant spans 1,600 hectares and with a sizable amount attributed from a US Department of Energy loan as well as sizable investments from NRG Energy, Inc. (NRG-NYSE) and Google Inc. (GOOG-Nasdaq), cost $2.2 billion to build.

The problem with the BrightSource solar power plant is that, it acts as a death ray, instantly solar power plant any wildlife that happens to fly through the intense beam of light. Wildlife officials are concerned that the solar power plant and others like it, could decimate the ecosystem as it attracts insects then birds that eat the insects. Anything that wanders too close to one of the boiling towers is quickly toasted by the focused sunlight.

Workers at the solar plant refer to the birds as 'streamers' as they ignite in midair and plummet to the ground trailing smoke. BrightSource estimates nearly 1,000 birds are roasted each year and has offered $1.8 million in compensation for the expected bird deaths. Estimates of the number of 'streamers' vary widely up to hundreds of thousands of incinerated birds each year.

Stock Market Forum