New York: 15:48 || London: 20:48 || Mumbai: 02:18 || Singapore: 04:48

Reports » US

US stock market daily report (July 11, 2014, Friday)

July 14, 2014, Monday, 05:11 GMT | 00:11 EST | 09:41 IST | 12:11 SGT
Contributed by Millennium Traders


Microsoft Crime Busters Make the Cut Microsoft Crime Busters Make the Cut Cyber crooks cannot hide from Microsoft Corporation (MSFT-Nasdaq) forever. Microsoft, the worlds largest software maker, made its most successful digital crime-busting operation when it freed at least 4.7 million infected personal computers.

Microsoft's cybercrime-fighting Digital Crimes Unit said on Thursday, they identified millions of infected computers although - many could still be controlled by cyber fraudsters. Under a federal court order, the operation began on June 30 and targeted malicious software known as Bladabindi and Jenxcus. Microsoft said the software works in a similar fashion for those written and distributed by developers in Kuwait and Algeria. This was the first high-profile case involving malware developed outside Eastern Europe.

Compromised computers were found after Microsoft intercepted traffic that was headed to servers at Reno, Nevada-based Vitalwerks Internet Solutions. Reportedly the criminals used free accounts on its No-IP.com services, to communicate with compromised computers.

Nearly 1.8 millions Vitalwerks users lost Internet access for several days, resulting in criticism against the way Microsoft handled the operation. Vitalwerks said the firm would have gladly assisted Microsoft, without interrupting service to legitimate users. In an apology, Microsoft blamed a technical error for the disruption.

Assistant general counsel of the Digital Crimes Unit at Microsoft, Richard Domingues Boscovich, said Microsoft would provide government authorities and Internet service providers around the world with the IP addresses of infected machines so they can help users remove the viruses. Boscovich said in an interview, "Those victims are currently not aware they are infected."

Based on the number of identified infected machines, the operation is said to be the most successful - of the 10 launched to date - by Microsoft's Digital Crimes Unit, per Boscovich.

The largest number of infected computers were located in India, Pakistan, Egypt, Brazil, Algeria and Mexico.