New York: 15:59 || London: 20:59 || Mumbai: 02:29 || Singapore: 04:59

Reports US

US stock market daily report (July 31, 2014, Thursday)

August 1, 2014, Friday, 05:35 GMT | 00:35 EST | 10:05 IST | 12:35 SGT
Contributed by Millennium Traders


It is not about complex virology and genotyping of scientists involved in the deadly Ebola virus in West Africa, its all about how highly contagious 'microbes' - like humans - use planes, bikes and taxis to spread. Basically, these deadly microbes could be currently infecting all forms of transportation. Microbes are single-cell organisms so tiny that millions can fit onto the eye of a needle. That is seriously small. They are also the oldest form of life on earth.

Disease specialists say their is a low risk of the virus moving to other continents. In order to head off the outbreak within West Africa at the source, it is vital to trace every person who may have had contact with an infected case. Part of attempts to trace the source, victims should not leave out even the most seemingly bit of routine information - such information could provide important tips to other potentially infected victims.

The West Africa outbreak which began in Guinea in February, has already spread to Liberia and Sierra Leone. Since the Ebola virus was discovered nearly 40 years ago, this is the largest outbreak with over 1,300 cases and 729 deaths. In an attempt to tackle the outbreak, Sierra Leone has declared a state of public emergency. Liberia - in an attempt to tackle the outbreak as well - is closing schools and is considering putting some communities under quarantine.

Experts from The World Health Organization say Ebola is transmitted to people from wild animals and spreads in the human population through human-to-human transmission. Direct contact with the blood, organs or other bodily fluids of individuals infected with the Ebola virus is the means of transmission from person-to-person. Healthcare workers are among those facing the highest risk.

Infection has been documented in Africa after victims were found to have handled infected chimpanzees, gorillas, fruit bats, monkeys, forest antelope and porcupines found ill, found dead or simply found in the rainforest.

Stock Market Forum