New York: 16:31 || London: 21:31 || Mumbai: 03:01 || Singapore: 05:31

Reports » US

US stock market daily report (May 12, 2014, Monday)

May 13, 2014, Tuesday, 05:24 GMT | 00:24 EST | 09:54 IST | 12:24 SGT
Contributed by Millennium Traders


The U.S. Food and Drug Administration approved Zontivity (vorapaxar), developed to decrease the formation of blood clots plus, to reduce the risk of heart attacks, cardiovascular death and stroke in high-risk patients, made by Merck Sharp & Dohme Corp., a subsidiary of Merck & Co. Inc. (MRK-NYSE). Zontivity also assists is the reduction for procedures to restore the blood flow to the heart in patients with a previous heart attack or blockages in the arteries to the legs.

Ellis Unger, M.D., director of the Office of Drug Evaluation I in the FDA’s Center for Drug Evaluation and Research said, “In patients who have had a heart attack or who have peripheral arterial disease, this drug will lower the risk of heart attack, stroke, and cardiovascular death. In the study that supported the drug’s approval, Zontivity lowered this risk from 9.5 percent to 7.9 percent over a 3-year period, about 0.5 percent per year.”

In a clinical trial of over 25,000 patients, Zontivity, when used with other anti-platelet agents such as generally aspirin and clopidogrel, provided a reduction in the rate of a combined endpoint of heart attack, stroke, cardiovascular death and urgent procedures to improve blood flow to the heart (coronary revascularization) when compared to a placebo.

Zontivity is an anti-platelet agent, the first in a new class of drugs called a protease-activated receptor-1 (PAR-1) antagonist, designed to decrease the tendency of platelets to clump together to form a blood clot.

Side affects of Zontivity include increased risk of bleeding, including life-threatening and fatal bleeding. The most commonly reported adverse reaction in people taking Zontivity is bleeding. People who have had a stroke, transient ischemic attack (TIA), or bleeding in the head must not use Zontivity because the risk of bleeding in the head is too great.