New York: 09:20 || London: 14:20 || Mumbai: 19:50 || Singapore: 22:20

Reports » US

US stock market, economy and companies update (March 24, 2014)

March 24, 2014, Monday, 19:29 GMT | 15:29 EST | 00:59 IST | 03:29 SGT
Contributed by Trade The News


- Global market continue to digest the flash China March HSBC/Markit manufacturing PMI, which saw its lowest reading in eight months and spent the third consecutive month in contraction territory. As of writing the DJIA is %, the S&P500 is %

- The flash US March Markit manufacturing PMI report slipped to 55.5 from 57.1 in February. According to Markit's chief economist, the survey adds to evidence that the sector has shrugged off the weather-related weakness seen earlier in the year.

- USD/CNY has turned around in Monday trading, dropping back below the key 6.20 level after the poor Markit PMI data. EUR/USD traded above 1.3820 after the good March manufacturing PMI data, which was in expansion for the first time in two years, but has moved back to around 1.3770 in the US session.

- Cisco announced plans to spend over $1 billion to enter the cloud computing market. The investment will be spent on the construction of data centers designed to run the new service, called Cisco Cloud Services. Corporate clients will be able to use the service to keep tabs on customer orders and supply chains, and give employees a secure platform to connect to their work computers from any other device.

- Apple and Comcast are said to be negotiating to set up a streaming television service that would use an Apple set-top box and receive special treatment on Comcast cables. This is only the latest report detailing Apple's television plans, which have run hot and cold for years now. According to one source, Comcast's main concern is to determine how Apple's rights acquisition would affect service prices fir traditional pay TV.

***Looking Ahead***
- 11:00 (US) Fed to purchase $0.50-0.75B in bonds
- 11:30 (US) Treasury to sell $48B in 3-Month and 6-Month Bills
- 11:30 (IL) Israel Central Bank Interest Rate Decision: Expected to leave Base Rate unchanged 0.75% prior
- 12:30 (CA) Bank of Canada (BOC) Dep Gov Lane speaks at York University


***Economic Data***
- (PT) Portugal Jan Current Account Balance: -€185.3B v -€12.2M prior
- (IL) Israel Feb Unemployment Rate: 5.8% v 5.9% prior
- (CL) Chile Feb PPI M/M: -0.3% v +0.8% prior
- (US) Feb Chicago Fed Nat Activity Index: +0.14 v +0.10e
- (BR) Brazil Feb Current Account Balance: -$7.44B v -$8.0Be; Foreign Direct Investment (FDI): $4.13B v $3.4Be
- (US) Mar Preliminary Markit US PMI Manufacturing: 55.5 v 56.5e
- (BE) Belgium Mar Business Confidence: -4.4 v -5.0e
- (MX) Mexico Feb Unemployment Rate: 4.65% v 4.9%e; Unemployment Rate Seasonally Adj: 4.73% v 4.8%e